Something vanilla on the needles

Phew!

I was getting nervous there.

I was down to only one project on the needles, and you know how that is!
My other project is at the finishing stages: button band and neckline ribbing. I wanted something else to do while I procrastinated…If that is possible. I’m just dreading picking up all those stitches!

My criteria: it needed plain stockinette and simple math. I also wanted to use up some stash yarn, and have had this pattern dog-eared ever since I got the book More Last Minute Knitted Gifts.
Sounds like a match made in heaven, no?

Ps, I love this book. I’ve knit many things from it, most of it before I was on Ravelry.

The yarn I’m using is a cotton blend in the muted brown color called Taupe. As I’ve mentioned before, my two older children will only tolerate expensive bamboo blends or cotton in their hand knits…so I am getting a lot of experience with cotton. The more I knit with it the more I love it though…The drape on cotton is perfect, and so soft and comfy.

image

I’m knitting this for my oldest in the 5/6 size. Usually I would knit the next size up since Austin already wears size 6, but there is oodles of positive ease in this one (4.5 in!) so I am sticking with the smaller size. I will probably add a little length although I haven’t checked that part out yet.

I can just picture this vest over a brightly coloured shirt, or with a dress shirt for church. The original pattern suggests an initial in duplicate stitch, and I think I will do that…although another kind of motif would be fun too. Guitar? Rocket ship?

Hmm. Decisions, decisions πŸ™‚

Do you have any standby projects for mindless knitting, or travel knitting? I know many do hexipuffs, or socks…please share!

ps, vest is Ravelled here.

3 thoughts on “Something vanilla on the needles

    1. Oh really! I can’t wait to see it, it really is a Very Pretty scarf πŸ™‚ I’ve done the bookmarks, baby socks, coffee cozies, beanies, and the baby sweater…I love the socks in there too but prefer toe up so haven’t made those yet. Have you blogged the scarf?

Leave a Reply

