Deal Me In

I have a somewhat silly way I keep track of pattern repeats.

Yes, it’s confession time. I keep cards in my knitting bag.

image

In this particular pattern, Looking Back, there is a 12 row repeat. Before I really got the hang of the pattern, I was having trouble keeping track of my rows.
Was I on row 3 or 10?

Since the pattern is worked in the right side, I got odd numbered playing cards up to 11 (Jack).
On row 1, I have the ace showing. When I turn to the purl row I flip the stack, showing the back of the card. The red sides are always the purl sides.

image

I know when I flip the stack back to the front, that means it’s time to pull out the front card (ace) and rotate it to the back. Now the 3 is showing.

It may seem overly simple, but it really helps to just be able to flip your “deck” and know right where your are in the pattern. It also is a lifesaver when you leave your project and come back to it later.

Now I haven’t tried this method yet on a bigger pattern. When I made my Umaro blankets (here and here) there were 28 rows in the pattern, and the pattern was worked on the wrong side too!
If I made it again, I would use the card suits to count by tens. Pulling out the numbers 1-10 for 3 suits, each suit signifying the next set of tens…just a thought!

Do you have tricks for keeping your knitting organized?

6 thoughts on “Deal Me In

    1. Thanks! I used to mark on paper too, but it’s so tedious, and if you forget it can be tricky to figure out where you are šŸ™‚
      Lemme know if it works for you!

Leave a Reply

